Finalists Announced

Texas A&M University System Board of Regents Confirms Four Key Appointments

COLLEGE STATION, Texas – The Texas A&M University System Board of Regents on Monday confirmed four key appointments: Michael K. Young as President of Texas A&M University; Dr. Joyce M. Alexander as Dean of the College of Education and Human Development; Dr. Eli Jones as Dean of the Mays Business School; and Dr. Bruce Akey as Director of the Texas A&M Veterinary Medical Diagnostic Laboratory. The appointments were made during a special telephonic meeting of the Board of Regents.

Michael K. Young was named sole finalist for President of Texas A&M in February. He comes to A&M from the University of Washington, where he had served as President since July 2011. He brings more than three decades of teaching, research, public service, and leadership in higher education. Prior to serving as President of the University of Washington, he was President and Distinguished Professor of Law at the University of Utah. Mr. Young spent 20 years at Columbia University School of Law as Fuyo Professor of Japanese Law, after which he served as Dean of the George Washington University Law School. Concurrently with his academic career, Mr. Young served on and chaired the U.S. Commission on International Religious Freedom from 1998 to 2006, and from 1989 to 1993 pursued trade, international, environmental and human rights agreements for the United States as Deputy Legal Advisor, Deputy Under-Secretary and Ambassador for Trade and Environmental Affairs in the U.S. Department of State. Mr. Young received a B.A. in Political Science and Japanese from Brigham Young University, graduating Summa Cum Laude with Highest Honors. He received a J.D. from Harvard Law School, where he served on the Harvard Law Review and graduated Magna Cum Laude. Following graduation from Harvard, he served as a law clerk to Supreme Court Chief Justice William H. Rehnquist. Mr. Young’s start date at Texas A&M will be May 1, 2015.

Dr. Joyce Alexander will join Texas A&M University effective June 1, 2015 as Dean of the College of Education and Human Development. Dr. Alexander has most recently served as Executive Associate Dean of the School of Education at Indiana University. She brings extensive administrative and academic experience to Texas A&M, having also served at Indiana University as a faculty member and from 2005 – 2011 as Chair of the Counseling and Educational Psychology Department. She received a B.S. in Psychology from Texas Wesleyan University, and Master of Arts and a Ph.D. in Educational Psychology from the University of Georgia. Dr. Alexander authored or co-authored 25 referred research publications, gave 44 refereed research presentations, supervised 20 student dissertations, served as a journal reviewer for 12 journals, and is currently on the Editorial Board of Metacognition and Learning.

Dr. Eli Jones comes to Texas A&M as Dean of the Mays Business School from the University of Arkansas, where he was Professor and Dean of the Walton College of Business. Dr. Jones previously served as a faculty member at the University of Houston from 1997 – 2008, and as Professor and Dean of the E.J. Ourso College of Business at Louisiana State University from 2008 – 2012. Dr. Jones authored or co-authored 38 refereed research publications and four books, participated in 39 refereed conference proceedings and presentations, and is currently on the Editorial Board of the Journal of the Academy of Marketing Science and the Journal of Personal Selling and Sales Management. He received a B.S. in Journalism, a Master of Business Administration and a Ph.D. in Marketing from Texas A&M. Dr. Jones’s start date is July 1, 2015.

Dr. Bruce Akey’s appointment as Director of the Texas A&M Veterinary Medical Diagnostic Laboratory is effective immediately; he had been named sole finalist for the role by the Board of Regents in February after having served as Interim Director since 2014. Dr. Akey is a nationally recognized leader in veterinary diagnostics. He has been vice president and president of the American Association of Veterinary Laboratory Diagnosticians (AAVLD), co-chaired the U.S. Animal Health Association’s national animal health reporting system steering committee and worked on numerous USDA animal health boards and committees. Prior to joining TVMDL last year, Dr. Akey was at Cornell University as Assistant Dean for Diagnostic Operations and Executive Director at the Animal Health Diagnostic Center. There he led the research and diagnostic laboratories and also managed the design and construction of a new laboratory at Cornell. Previously, he served as the assistant state veterinarian for New York State and was the chief of laboratory services office for the Virginia Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services. Dr. Akey holds a bachelor’s in biology from the College of William and Mary, a master’s degree in parasitology from the University of Florida and a doctor of veterinary medicine from the University of Minnesota.

About the A&M System
The A&M System is one of the largest systems of higher education in the nation, with a budget of $3.8 billion. Through a statewide network of 11 universities, seven state agencies, two service units and a comprehensive health science center, the A&M System educates more than 135,000 students and makes more than 22 million additional educational contacts through service and outreach programs each year. Externally funded research expenditures exceed $820 million and help drive the state’s economy.

Contact: Therese (Terry) McDevitt
(979) 458-6018
(210) 232-5759 cell